Home Nashville News Metro Council to vote on new police headquarters, open to public

Metro Council to vote on new police headquarters, open to public

Metro Council to vote on new police headquarters, open to public

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (WKRN) – The public will have the opportunity to voice their opinions Tuesday night about the proposed locations for a new Metro Nashville Police Department Headquarters and jail.

The Metro Council will host a public forum during their meeting at 6:30 p.m. in the Metro Courthouse on 2nd Avenue North.

A first vote passed last week to have the new police headquarters on Jefferson Street in north Nashville, while the jail would be located where the current south police precinct is on Harding Place in south Nashville.

The Justice for Jefferson Street coalition and the African American Cultural Alliance claim the Mayor’s Office, the Davidson County Government and the Metro Nashville Police Department excluded many African Americans in the decision to build the new headquarters.

They formally requested an investigation on Monday into federal civil rights violations and racial discrimination.

Emily Hale, a north Nashville resident, said “Instead of nice businesses and restaurants along our streets, we’re going to have bail bondings. We’re going to have all sorts of cash advance places, title loans. I don’t want that in my neighborhood.”

Davidson County Sheriff Daron Hall told News 2 a new headquarters is needed due to a number of issues with the current facility, including problems with electric, plumbing, and other things he wouldn’t go into detail about, because he said it could put the lives of his staff in danger.

“Doing nothing is not an option. Consolidating all of our operations in the south side of Nashville is the most cost-effective for us all,” Sheriff Hall said.

Metro police spokesman Don Aaron said the $23 million facility will be an administrative facility that will house 19 police officers and 66 civilian support personnel.

If the proposal passes Tuesday night a third vote will be held June 9th.

*Courtesy of News 2 WKRN*